Restaurant review – The Artizan

artizan

Happy 2017! I hope you all had an enjoyable New Year’s celebrations whatever you may have been doing. Personally I’m not much of one for celebrating the New Year. I’m quite happy to let it pass me by but seeing as this is my last year in Northampton I chose to go out for a goodbye meal with my best friend before I leave this home town of mine behind.

We opted for somewhere that had recommended to my best friend by a number of different people, a place called The Artizan on the road of the same name in Northampton.

As we approached the pub we both remarked on how warm and welcoming it looked from the outside with its window’s lit up on the street corner. This is not to be underestimated because many of us making decisions about a place purely based on first impressions. Unsurprisingly for New Years Eve it was already busy when we arrived at 5:30 pm. Inside there was a good mixture of families, couples, regulars as well as folks watching the Liverpool v. Manchester City game.

But we’d come for their pizzas that we’d heard so much about. Cooked in a stone baked oven, they were supposed to be delicious and being something of a pizza aficionado (I’ve tried quite a few) I was keen to see if these ones lived up to the hype. Cooked to order, I went for the pepperoni pizza and my best friend had the margarita with basil and sun dried tomatoes and they certainly didn’t disappoint. The base was thin and crispy, the tomato sauce not too sweet and the cheese was dripping as I pulled apart the slices, just how I like it. There was plenty of topping without them being overloaded.

pepperoni
Pepperoni pizza

 

The only slight niggle was that there weren’t any knives and forks to eat them with which wasn’t a massive problem except for the fact that because there was so much cheese and a healthy topping of pepperonis it made it a little messy to eat. But I got stuck in and with pizza sauce smeared all over my mouth I finished the lot and what a lot there was. At around £7.00 for the average pizza on the menu you certainly get value for money compared with the likes of Pizza Express.

margareta
Margarita pizza 

 

If you’re looking for a relaxed, cosy atmosphere and a pizza that’s good value for money, then this is the place to go.

Leave a Reply

