Simmy’s homemade leek and potato soup

leek-and-po

Let me say it loud and clear from the start, I am not the world’s greatest cook but now that I’m living with my boyfriend and I am cooking for the both of us, I need to expand my food repertoire.

Then on Sunday my boyfriend’s mum asked if I wanted any leeks and potatoes she’d won in a raffle but didn’t want so I thought I would try to make my own soup.

To the leeks and potatoes I added onions and carrots and I have to say it is absolutely delicious on a cold and wet day like today.

Try it yourself.

Serves 2 people.

Ingredients

  • 1 carrot
  • 1 medium onion
  • 200g of leeks
  • a teaspoon of garlic puree (or 1 glove of garlic)
  • olive oil
  • 200g of potatoes
  • 1 chicken stock cube (substitute a chicken stock cube for vegetable if you’re a  vegetarian)
  • salt and pepper to season
  1. peel and slice the carrots
  2. peel and roughly chop the onions
  3. cut the ends of the leeks, cut them in half lengthways and wash them thoroughly before slicing
  4. peel and slice the garlic if you’re using gloves otherwise miss this step
  5. place a large pan on a high heat and add 2 tablespoons of olive oil (butter also works well)
  6. add all your carrots, leeks and onions along with the garlic glove/garlic puree and mix with a wooden spoon
  7. cook for 10 minutes with the lid askew until the vegetables are soft and translucent
  8. whilst these are cooking peel then dice your potatoes into even sized cubes
  9. put the stock cube into a jug and pour in 90 ml of boiling water and stir until the stock cube dissolves
  10. add the stock to the pan with the vegetables in
  11. add your potatoes then give the soup a stir and bring to the boil
  12. reduce the heat and simmer for 10 minutes with the lid on
  13. finally remove the pan from the heat and when the contents has cooled slightly you can pulse until smooth with a hand blender
Leave a Reply

